Let The Right One In

Last night I watched Let The Right One In. For those who might not know, it’s a Swedish vampire flick. I’d heard about it from a few different sources, and admittedly I was curious about it. Several reasons for this, really. One, I love vampires. Two, I love well done vampire movies. (Okay, sometimes I even like the really really bad ones, too) But three, and the most important I think, is that it sounded like something different. Something good. Something interesting.

The vampire in it is young. In fact, both of the main characters are young. So while the vampire isn’t actually young, she looks young. 12, in fact. It’s not very often that you get to see vampires of this age. Vampires that aren’t absolutely gorgeous specimens of adult life.

There’s another thing about the vampire. She’s not really a she.

I finally sat down and found it online and watched it. I have to say that I’m completely blown away by the entire thing. It was beautifully done. I’m in love.

And as with many things I find myself in love with, I have also found myself obsessed with it. I did a little bit of digging last night and discovered that there’s a book that this is based off of. I will have to get it.

I also found out that there’s going to be an English remake of it, and that the director intends to follow the book a little more closely. So it’ll be more of it’s own movie than it will be an exact replica or a true remake. I still have a bit of time to wait for this to come to be, so I suppose for right now I’ll satisfy myself with waiting for the DVD release of the Swedish version (March), and find the book.

Leave a Reply

