Purposes and ideas

Now that there are a few more people actively looking at this thing, I thought that I might clarify a couple of things.

First, as I’ve said before, this entire blog has a focus on the geekier things of life, but within that, it has no particular focus. I like a large number of things, and feel the need for an outlet for all of them. There are handy tags, however, so that you can see opinions on video games, or movies, or television, or books, or really random shit that comes to mind.

Second, I might have a large focus on something for a long time and abruptly shift to something else. Like Star Wars. It seems as if the bulk of the posts for a long time were Star Wars, and that was because a lot of the things I was involved with at that time had to do with it. I had a very large series of books to read, I had a video game to play. Of course, I also have Star Wars in my every day life. But now suddenly, the focus seems to be vampires. Why? Because now there are a lot of vampire books being read. It doesn’t happen on purpose, I promise.

Third, I don’t truly review things. I give my opinion on them. I do my best to not reveal spoilers, or anything within what I’m writing about that I think people should discover on their own. I’m not going to give a large synopsis of what I’m writing about, because you can look that up elsewhere, and I really find that boring. The point of the reason I’m writing is because I find I want to talk about these things and either nobody around me has had experience with them, or cares. So my reviews aren’t really reviews at all. Just how I feel about it with a possible urging to others to pick it up or leave it the hell alone. This also means that I have no rating system. I’m not going to give something stars. Or anything else like that. My opinion is not going to be anybody else’s. I might think something is a lot better or a lot worse than somebody else. All you can do is read what I thought and go by that.

Fourth, I don’t really care what anybody else thinks. I mean I do, in such that I will pick something up if it’s recommended by somebody, but that’s about the extent of it. I’m not going to completely avoid something if I’m told that somebody doesn’t like it. I’m also not going to judge things based on what friends think. I don’t care if my friends don’t like something, I won’t hide the fact that I do, if I do. I will let them know that I did, in fact, enjoy it, and move on. I don’t expect people to like things because I do, either. Honest opinions are welcome. If you disagree with something I’ve said, then feel free to mention it. I don’t mind. But don’t get angry with me because I like something you don’t, or don’t like something you do. Don’t argue your points, don’t call me stupid. You can tell me WHY you didn’t or did, and we can have a rational discussion on it, but in this space opinions are respected. I like what I like, you like what you like. I also don’t really listen to reviewers. I’ve found too often that I don’t agree with them, so it’s best for me to just find out for myself.

So, there. I think that’s about it. I guess I can answer any other questions that there might be, but I can’t think of what they would consist of.

Leave a Reply

