Care Bears Movie II – Request

Ah, how I wish I were joking. No. It was requested, and I did indeed watch it. It’s not the cartoon aspect of the movie that I’m ashamed of, I’m fond of cartoons and cartoon movies. Nor is it really the Care Bears themselves, they’re a good bunch. A little too happy for my current state of mind, maybe. It’s the music where I feel the shame and agony. Music like that should be outlawed.

There’s also the fact that I know this was requested maliciously. It was not intended for my enjoyment. It was not thought ‘Maybe she hasn’t seen this, I think she will like it’. The requester did not wish to see my thoughts on it. They did it to bring me pain. Well, HA! I’m going to do an actual review. So, eat it!

Let me first welcome you to the cartoon art style of my childhood. Where we didn’t have thick lines and cell shading, where nothing is boxy and a little strange to the eye. Where things look soft when they should and nobody tried to animate every syllable of a word.

In this movie, we find out that it’s not just Care Bears, but also Care Bear Cousins. These cousins are animals of various species and unlike the bears tend to have “heart” in their names more often than not.
We also get to see the origins of these strangely happy and loving creatures, and their Very First Earth Mission. Yes, very important it was, too.

As it typically was in my childhood, when the bad guy is defeated he’s converted into a good guy. You see, I lived in a generation where nobody ever really died. Either they went away, sometimes trying their hand at evil again when their pride was healed, or they became good. Let me remind you that I come from the generation that was told that we emulated TV too much. It’s obviously not an accurate accusation, as I very rarely see anybody running around with colorful images painted on their tummies and doing random acts of kindness.

I watched the cartoon on TV. Yes, there really was one. Plus Thundercats, My Little Pony, He-Man and She-Ra, Smurfs, Snorks. The new cartoons of today will never match up to what I grew up with, mostly because they didn’t treat us like idiots. I’m big on that. There were big words and serious topics. Plus I think they were longer. Less commercials. Plus they spawned a lot of toys. A LOT of toys.

I really think this – and the other Care Bears Movie – are ones that kids today should watch. It’s well done all around – except the music – and there’s just something magical about the whole thing.

I really had fun watching it again. And thinking about all those Care Bear toys I used to have when I was younger.

Leave a Reply

