Paul Blart: Mall Cop – Request

I feel like I’ve watched a million Sandler-associated movies in the past while. Sometimes without even knowing it when I wade in.

10 minutes into this movie and I just had to pause it to say – Really?

I think that whoever was in charge of promotion for this movie ought to be fired. They did such a spectacularly shit job of it.

I was seriously ready to be pissed off at having to watch this movie because somebody requested it. I had a nagging feeling, though, that there was malice aforethought. I was pretty firmly in the idea that this was going to be one of the stupidest movies I ever sat through.

While I’m not going to want to own this one, I’m also not left wishing for my time back. I would have been irritated if I spent money to see it in a theater, but it was amusing enough to sit through once, on my couch, where I could turn it off without guilt at any time.

Also, like I hinted at earlier, not at all what they made me think I was in for. I believed I was going to witness a huge slapstick, physical comedy, silly-packed brainless experience. Instead, I discover a plot that somebody actually put effort into. Yeah, there are some goofy bits, but not a whole never ending string of them. It had nicely timed silly bits. Which made some of them actually funny enough to laugh at.

I didn’t have a lot of faith in Kevin James either, to be honest. He’s not exactly one of my favorite actors, and I was really wary at his ability to … well. Pull himself out of the hole that Chuck and Larry must have put him into. (Didn’t see it. Won’t.) But he also surprised me.

I guess what I’m saying is, don’t get too pissed off if somebody sits you down and forces you to watch it. You won’t feel the need to rip out your eyes or bash your friend to death with their own ottoman.

Leave a Reply

