Losing A Limb In The Star Wars Universe

Anakin Skywalker loses his hand. Luke Skywalker loses his hand. Tomcat loses his hand.

I’ve just finished Darth Bane: Rule Of Two, and it occurred to me that if you’re living in the Star Wars Universe, it doesn’t entirely matter what happens to you, as long as you’ve got a brain to hook up, they can make you a full new body. They practically do for Vader.

Kind of makes you wonder why they’re not a little more lackluster in their fighting. I mean, I get it, having your hand cut off has to hurt like a bitch, but it’s not like you’ve totally lost all use of it, is it? They’ll just take you to a Bacta tank, heal you up, and slap you with a new one. And the new one will be better. I bet you could fix up a new hand with all kinds of cool shit.

There’s a point where Luke uses his new hand to short out some wiring. I think his new hand might also have the ability to tap into networks. Possibly do stunts on show ponies.

What I’m trying to get at here is that while you might get freaked out every once in a while when you wake up and there’s this big metal THING hanging off your arm, eventually you’re going to get used to it. You could even have different attachments, ala Captain Hook.

Going down to the root of things, what is it with George Lucas and the missing hand? Is there something behind it that he’s not telling us? Is it his worst fear? Is it a secret kink? Or am I looking too deep and he just does it because robot hands are really fucking cool?

I know there’s a Vader-themed issue of … Rolling Stone… I think it is… out there somewhere. I wonder if that talks about the hands. Don’t ask me why I don’t already have it. I couldn’t tell you.

2 responses to “Losing A Limb In The Star Wars Universe

  1. Yeah, but nothing so much as to get your panties in a twist about. Everybody who has lost a limb is still pretty effing powerful. I mean, look at Vader. He's 90% metal and he still kicks everybody's ass.

Leave a Reply

