Live Streaming

Yesterday I had the startlingly fun opportunity to watch a friend of mine, Bryce, live stream a game as he was playing it. This was not something I thought that I would enjoy. I like playing video games, sure, obviously, but what would I get out of sitting at my computer watching somebody else play them?

It’s not so much about the video game, in the end. Sure, seeing what Portal 2 (the game that was being played) looked like, finally, was pretty fun. As I’ve not gotten a chance to complete the first one yet, I haven’t picked up the second one. I haven’t even really thought about it. So getting that chance did do a couple things – deciding that I will get it eventually and showing me that I will have fun with it as well.

Bryce was playing multiplayer against another friend of mine, Ali. She was being piped in over the phone. Which was an interesting addition. The beauty of technology.

And I did, I had a really good time watching the two of them. There was a little chat bar on the side where questions could be asked or there could just be general interaction with Bryce and the other people watching.

What I really enjoyed was the commentary from Bryce and Ali. Watching them play the game, more than watching the game itself. I don’t know if this would work with just anybody, either. Bryce has a special magic all his own, as does Ali. Putting them together was pretty hilarious.

If you would like to experience Bryce and his live stream, they can be found at http://www.livestream.com/thergbcolor . You can find Bryce at YouTube as well at http://www.youtube.com/thergbcolor .

Leave a Reply

